Devin Haney vs. George Kambosos Jnr DATE, FIGHT TIME, TV CHANNEL

During an already busy weekend in the world of combat sports, there may not be a single fight Saturday with more stakes than the Undisputed Lightweight Championship bout that brings together undefeated champion George Campos Jr. and Devin Haney.

With an expected crowd of 50,000 at Marvel Stadium in Melbourne, Australia (ESPN, 9 p.m. ET), Kambosos (20-0, 10 KOs) is back for a home fight for the first time since 2017 as he looks to continue Meteorite. The ascent that upset Tiofemo Lopez Jr. last November to earn a stronghold in one of the sport’s most prestigious divisions, such as the WBA, IBF and WBO Championships.

But like his win over Lopez, 28-year-old Camposos will enter as the weak bet – albeit a very small one this time around – when he welcomes Hani (27-0, 15 KOs), 23 – the old phenom and WBC champion long considered a future star in the making. configuration.

One of the biggest events related to the fight that was expected to affect the outcome was the fact that Haney’s father and coach, Bill, was banned from traveling to Australia due to a drug felony conviction dating back to 1992. He is able to obtain late approval and is expected to arrive in Melbourne in It’s time to be with his son

For more than five minutes, the two fighters talked in the trash. They did not come to blows, but mental warfare was in effect.

Fight week began in style with an opening press conference at Culture Kings in downtown Melbourne.

Unified champion Kambosos (20-0, 10 KOs) and WBC King Haney (27-0, 15 KOs) are set to battle in one of the biggest boxing matches in Australian history. The Down Under Showdown will be broadcast live in the US in prime time on Saturday (Sunday local time) on ESPN, ESPN Deportes and ESPN+.

WHEN IS KAMBOSOS JR. VS. HANEY ? DATE, START TIME

  • Date: Saturday, June 4 (June 5 in Australia)
  • Main card: 11 a.m. AEST / 9 p.m. ET / 2 a.m. BST
  • Main event ringwalks (approx): 2 p.m. AEST / 11 p.m. ET / 4 a.m. BST

The main card is set to get underway at 11 a.m. AEST / 9 p.m. ET / 2 a.m. BST with the main event ring walks scheduled for 2 p.m. AEST / 11 p.m. ET / 4 a.m. BST. These timings could change due to the length of the undercard fights.

WHAT CHANNEL/STREAM IS KAMBOSOS JR. VS. HANEY ?

  • AUS: Foxtel PPV
  • U.S.: ESPN   
  • UK: Sky Sports

The fight will be broadcast on Foxtel PPV in Australia for a AU$59.95 fee, while ESPN and Sky Sports will broadcast the fight in the U.S. and UK respectively.

KAMBOSOS JR. VS. HANEY FIGHT CARD

  • George Kambosos Jr. vs. Devin Haney; For Kambosos’ WBO, WBA, IBF and Ring Magazine lightweight belts, and Haney’s WBC title
  • Jason Maloney vs. Aston Palicte; Bantamweight
  • Junior Fa vs. Lucas Browne; Heavyweight
  • Hemi Ahio vs. Christian Ndzie; Heavyweight
  • David Nyika vs. Karim Maatalla; Cruiserweight (swing bout)

    ESPN+, Following Main Event

    Andrew Moloney 116.9 lbs vs.  Alexander Espinoza 115.1 lbs
    (Bantamweight— 8 Rounds)

    Amari Jones 159.2 lbs vs.  Ankush Hooda 159.1 lbs
    Middleweight — 6 Rounds

    ESPN+, 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT

    Terry Nickolas 155.9 lbs vs. Lachlan Higgins 154.7 lbs
     (Junior Middleweight — 6 Rounds)

    Taylah Robertson 111.6 lbs vs.  Sarah Higginson 110.8 lbs
     (Flyweight — 5 Rounds)

Leave a Comment