Trabzonspor wins Turkish Süper Lig title after 38-year hiatus

Trabzonspor won the Turkish League for the first time in 38 years, sparking wild celebrations from its fans.

Fans climbed onto the pitch before the 2-2 match with Antalyaspor concluded, but pushed the match away to allow the match to conclude.

They lead Fenerbahce by nine points – and have a stronger head-to-head record – with three matches remaining.

This is the eighth tournament of the Black Sea Storm – they won five titles in a row from 1975 to 1976 and another in 1983-1984.

They are one of only six teams to win the Turkish Championship.

Besiktas won the cup last season after the historic Basaksehir won its first title in the 2019-20 season.