🥇 Salah wins the FWA Footballer of the Year award

Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah was named Football Writers Association Player of the Year 2022.

Salah beat Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne after receiving 48% of the vote, while the Belgian ranked second and Declan Rice from West Ham ranked third. Salah won the award twice after winning the award again in 2018.

Chelsea Women’s striker Sam Kerr also won the first Women’s Footballer of the Year award which was open to voting.

“Both Mo and Wissam have been outstanding this season, breaking records for both club and country,” said NFL President Carrie Brown. “In addition to their performances on the field, they are leaders and standard-bearers of excellence for their clubs and leagues.” .

“The fact that they have won by such convincing margins underscores how great they have been this season which has been recognized by our members.”

Salah and Kerr are set to receive their award at the Best Football Player of the Year Gala in London on May 5th.