Karim Benzema explains his panenka penalty

Karim Benzema explained his decision to take the Panenka penalty in the 4-3 loss to Manchester City on Tuesday night.

Host City took a 4-2 lead after Bernardo Silva’s shot, but Real Madrid gave life with a penalty kick after Laporte was judged to touch the ball in the penalty area.

Benzema stepped out of the sport to reduce arrears in an impressive way that left many marveling at his self-confidence. Speaking to Sky Sports after the match, the Frenchman explained why he had made the move.

“I always think that if you don’t take a penalty, you don’t miss a penalty. That’s mental confidence and that’s it. I have a lot of confidence in myself,” Benzema said.

The move came just days after the French player missed two penalties in the previous Real Madrid match, both of which were saved by Osasuna Sergio Herrera.

Benzema and his teammates hope to be able to turn the difference by one goal in the second leg at the Bernabeu as they seek to win the Champions League once again in their history.

Leave a Comment